Intersection of West Baltimore Street (State Highway 140) and Park Road, Taneytown, MD 21787


History: Union General George G. Meade established his headquarters here at Taneytown on June 29, 1863. He ordered the Army of the Potomac to Pipe Creek to counter any move by Confederate General Robert E. Lee's Army of Northern Virginia toward Washington or Baltimore. General Meade watched his exhausted and footsore soldiers march by, including Union General Winfield Hancock's II Corps. Hancock later received orders from Meade to leave his corps, hurry to Gettysburg, and take charge of Union forces there after the death of commander General John Reynolds in the battle's opening moments. Meade followed, making his headquarters in the home of Mrs. Lydia Leister, who took refuge with her children in Silver Run.

More to Explore: Find the perfect bottle of wine while enjoying a breath-taking view of the Catoctin Mountains at nearby wineries on the Carroll Wine Trail. The Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel provides a luxurious getaway with a touch of history. The hotel's restaurant is acclaimed for its cuisine. To further immerse yourself in the town's local history, stop by Taneytown History Museum on East Baltimore Street.

Photo Credits:

  1. Lady with hat, Taneytown, courtesy of Carroll County Office of Tourism and Visitors Bureau.
  2. Store in Taneytown 1, courtesy of Carroll County Office of Tourism.
  3. Store in Taneytown 2, courtesy of Carroll County Office of Tourism.
  4. Taneytown Streetscape, courtesy of Carroll County Office of Tourism.